Hard Rock Museum
In the new Hard Rock musuem you can discover what happened on the surface and underground. Find out what life was like for those who worked here. It will tell the story of tin mining in Cornwall and Geevor in particular. You will be able to browse the galleries containing fascinating aretfacts and minerals, try out the new interactives and listen to the collection of oral history recordings – real people telling real stories about Geevor and the local community.
EXPLOSIVE OPENING TO GEEVOR’S HARD ROCK MUSEUM
Saturday 11th October 2008 from 11am
Like all exciting mining experiences the opening of Geevor Tin Mine’s new Hard Rock museum promises to go with a bang – literally!
Guests can expect an explosive ceremony in tandem with the more usual ribbon-cutting, which will be performed by local centigenarian, Mrs Winnie Sevier, whose father and husband both worked as mine manager at Geevor.
The museum itself is the final stage of a £3.8 million improvement programme at the Pendeen-based attraction funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund, Objective One, Cornwall County Council and Penwith District Council.
It’s a hands-on experience with many of the exhibits involving wheels, knobs and buttons for interactive enjoyment – bringing the finer scientific points of mining and metal extraction to life.
The new museum boasts a replica stope – an underground excavation area – to bring people a step closer to the real mining experience, as well as collections of minerals and rare mining artefacts. Visitors will also be able to listen to authentic stories gathered from former Geevor miners creating an atmospheric impression of real working life underground.
Mrs Sevier is a keen fan and supporter of Geevor – the largest preserved mining heritage centre in Europe. Her association with the mine goes back as far as 1919 when her father, Charles, known as Captain Cann, was made mine manager. Winnie married a Geevor mining engineer, William Sevier, in 1932 and William became mine manager when Winnie’s father died four years later. Continuing the ongoing family link, Mrs Sevier’s great niece, Jo Buckingham, currently works as Geevor’s Learning Development Officer.
Entry to the opening ceremony on Saturday 11 October is free. There will be no underground tours on the day but visitors will be able to access the mine buildings, which have benefited from the multi-million pound improvement programme, as well as the museum.